July 15, 2013

Full disclosure: I didn’t take this picture today. But how could I not share this picture of my wonderful Gramma on her 101st birthday? I already shared this on Facebook, but it’s worth sharing again:

Jul15-13-2

You guys, my grandma turned 101 years old today. Seriously! One-Hundred-And-One. Years. Old.

I had the pleasure of visiting with her a few weeks ago (when this picture was taken), even though I wasn’t able to be present for the festivities in Michigan over the weekend. I think she doesn’t look a day over 80.

She is one remarkable lady. She traveled the globe by ship under blackout conditions during World War II; the set sail from Pearl Harbor hours before the attack. She was 8 months pregnant with her first child at the time.

She served as a nurse along side her doctor husband in several countries, ensuring medical care for thousands of people who otherwise would not have had access.

She survived one of her daughters (my mom) and two husbands — the second of whom she married when she was 84.

She survived breast cancer twice, and beat colon cancer just before she turned the century mark.

This woman is not to be trifled with, and I sure hope I have just a few of those amazing genes in my blood.

Happy birthday, Grandma, with the deepest respect, unending awe, and love from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

